Five Orange County constitutional officers take oaths of office


Five Orange County constitutional officers – four incumbents and one newcomer – took their oaths for their new terms in public office.

The Oath of Office Ceremony was held on Tuesday, January 5, at the Orange County Administration Building in Orlando for Amy Mercado as property appraiser, Phil Diamond as comptroller, Tiffany Moore Russell as clerk of courts, Scott Randolph as tax collector, and Bill Cowles as supervisor of elections.

Mercado defeated two-term incumbent Rick Singh in the August 18, 2020, Democratic primary, and won the November 3, 2020, general election over two write-in candidates. Moore Russell, Cowles, Diamond and Randolph ran unopposed in the general election.

A recap story will appear in the Friday, January 8 issue of The Apopka Chief. The Apopka Chief and The Planter are weekly community newspapers, independently owned and family operated, that have served the greater Apopka area in Central Florida since 1923 and 1965 respectively. Subscribe today!